@MarDixon Passionate about culture. Champion for the next generation of Cultural visitors. Defender of Libraries. Digital, Wearable Tech Enthusiast. Sharing knowledge. Troublemaker and/or advocate, depending on what you need.
  • New Project for 2016: @52Museums Instagram & Twitter #52Museums

    16
    scissors
    December 20th, 2015mardixonCulture, International

    UPDATE: @52Museums is fully booked for 2016 but there is a waiting list and planning 2017 already.   Also, if you’re a museum on Instagram, please add yourself to the Museums on Instagram List.

    52Museums-8

    A few weeks ago I was on Instagram and noticed how my friend Chris Webb’s project 52Quilters was still going strong and growing. The object is simple: once a week someone takes over the Instagram, Twitter and Blog account and shares their experience on being a quilter.

    I went to sleep and woke up at 5am with one of those moments – this could work for museums. By 9am @52Museums was happening. Well I say happening, the accounts were created and a Google Form for sign up was made. There has been a few mistakes made along the way (like I should have created a form that only allowed one week to be chosen or any week as it turned into a logistic nightmare) but thankfully, museums are brilliant at adapting to changes (no seriously!!).

    The final schedule still isn’t final as over 80 museums have signed up. Museums are collaborating with other museums either via similar collections, cities or a fun challenge.

    This project is all about museum(s) sharing anything they want for the week on Instagram. Every museum that signed up is going to help engage with the account for the year – so local museums will get the same support as the nationals.

    Feel free to get involved, either with questions, likes, favorites or discussions.

    Who to Follow for #52Museums

    Instagram Takeover Date Museum Name Instagram Account Museum Type Country
    January
    04/01/16-10/01/16 The Getty @TheGetty Art USA
    11/01/16-17/01/16 Massaciuccoli romana/Corinium Museum @MassaciuccoliRomana / @coriniummuseum Archaeological /Archaeology Italy / UK
    18/01/16-24/01/16 State Historical Museum / Saint Basils Cathedral @state_historical_museum /@saint_basils_cathedral Russian Museums Russia
    25/01/16-31/01/16 Bruce Museum @brucemuseum art and science USA

    February
    01/02/16-07/02/16 Nordiska museet nordiskamuseet Museum of cultural history Sweden
    08/02/16-14/02/16 Leeds Museums and Galleries @Leedsmuseumsandgalleries City museums – 9 sites UK
    15/02/16-21/02/16 Science Museum @ScienceMuseum Science Museum UK
    22/02/16-28/02/16 Leopold Museum /Jewish Museum Vienna /Q21 leopold_museum / jewishmuseumvienna / Q21_Vienna Art culture and history museum Austria

    March
    29/02/16-06/03/16 Natural History Museum @natural_history_museum Natural History UK
    07/03/16-13/03/16 Wellcome Collection / Morbid Anatomy @wellcomecollection / @morbidanatomy Medicine Art Science UK / USA
    14/03/16-20/03/16 Albright-Knox Art Gallery @albrightknox Art Museum USA
    21/03/16-27/03/16 National Museum of Women in the Arts @womeninthearts Art USA

     

    April
    28/03/16-03/04/16 DDR Museum @ddrmuseum Historical Museum Germany
    04/04/16-10/04/16 Royal Ontario Museum @romtoronto EVERYTHING (World Cultures/Natural History) Canada
    11/04/16-17/04/16 musée du quai Branly @quaibranly Ethnographic collections but with an artistic approach France
    18/04/16-24/04/16 Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery @birmingham_mag Museum and Art Gallery UK

     

    May
    25/04/16-01/05/16 University of Reading Museums and Collections @unirdg_collections University museums (Museum of English Rural Life / Ure Museum of Greek Archaeology / Cole Museum of Zoology / Special Collections UK
    02/05/16-08/05/16 Hamburger Kunsthalle @hamburger.kunsthalle art museum Germany
    09/05/16-15/05/16 Grand Palais @le_grand_palais Gallery France
    16/05/16-22/05/16 LACMA /SFMOMA @lacma / @SFMOMA Art /Design /Architecture modern art museum USA
    23/05/16-29/05/16 The Getty Museum @gettymuseum LA USA

    June
    30/05/16-05/06/16 The Children's Museum of Indianapolis @childrensmuseum Children's museum USA
    06/06/16-12/06/16 Barbican Centre @barbicancentre Multi-arts Centre UK
    13/06/16-19/06/16 Hammer Museum @Hammer_Museum Art USA
    20/06/16-26/06/16 Nova Scotia Museum @novascotiamuseum Family of 28 provincial museums Canada

     

    July
    27/06/16-03/07/16 Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum @auschwitzmemorial Former German Nazi concentration and extermination camp Auschwitz-Birkenau site Poland
    04/07/16-10/07/16 Sir John Soane's Museum @soanemuseum Historic House UK
    11/07/16-17/07/16 The Andy Warhol Museum & Carnegie Museum of Art & Carngerie Museum of Natural History & Carnegie Science Center NA @thecmoa @carnegiemnh @carnegiescictr Art USA
    18/07/16-24/07/16 Kunstmuseum Bonn @kunstmuseum_bonn Art Germany
    25/07/16-31/07/16 The Infirmary Museum / Surgeon Museum / Medical Museion @infirmaryworc / @surgeonshall/@medicalmuseion Medical museum UK UK Denmark

     

    August
    01/08/16-07/08/16 Toledo Museum of Art @toledomuseum Art USA
    08/08/16-14/08/16 Marta Herford @martaherford contemporary Art/Design Germany
    15/08/16-21/08/16 Horniman Museum and Gardens @hornimanmuseumgardens Natural history anthropology music UK
    22/08/16-28/08/16 Smithsonian's Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden @hirshhorn modern and contemporary art USA

    September
    29/08/16-04/09/16 Museo della Ceramica di Savona /Museu del Disseny de Barcelona @museoceramicasavona @museudeldisseny ceramics art /ceramica artistica Italy / Spain
    05/09/16-11/09/16 Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg @mkg.hamburg Design / Arts and Crafts Germany
    12/09/16-18/09/16 The Fralin Museum of Art at the University of Virginia @Fralinmuseumuva University museum USA
    19/09/16-25/09/16 Peel Art Gallery Museum and Archives @visitpama History & art Canada

    October
    26/09/16-02/10/16 Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago /Museos de Arte: MBA-MAC @mcachicago museosdearte  Contemporary Art /Arte Contemporáneo USA/ Argentina
    03/10/16-09/10/16 National Museum of Australia @natmusaus Social history Australia
    10/10/16-16/10/16 Ashmolean Museum @ashmoleanmuseum Art & Archaeology UK
    17/10/16-23/10/16 The Library of Virginia /Minnesota Historical Society @LibraryofVA / @minnesotahistoricalsociety State library and archives /History – 26 historic sites around MN USA
    24/10/16-30/10/16 Fulham Palace @fulhampalace Historic home of the Bishops of London UK

     

    November
    31/10/16-06/11/16 SFO Museum @SFOMuseum General USA
    07/11/16-13/11/16 Jeu de Paume @jeudepaumeparis Contemporary Art / photography France
    14/11/16-20/11/16 Canada Science and Technology Museums Corporation @SciTechCollection @AgFoodMuseum @AvSpaceMuseum @SciTechMuseum Science Canada
    21/11/16-27/11/16 Bata Shoe Museum @batashoemuseum ethnographic/ historical Canada

     

    December
    28/11/16-04/12/16 Canadian Museum for Human Rights / Musée canadian pour les droits de la personne @cmhr_mcdp Human Rights & History Canada
    05/12/16-11/12/16 Stratford Hall @stratfordhall Historic House Museum USA
    12/12/16-18/12/16 Fondation Beyeler @fondationbeyeler Modern and Contemporary Art Switzerland
    19/12/16-25/12/16 Snite Museum of Art @snitemuseum University Museum USA
    26/12/16-01/01/17 Nationalmuseum Sweden @nationalmuseumswe Art and design Sweden

     

     

    As you can see – many chances to get involved and have fun over the year. We hope everyone follows @52Museums on Instagram and Twitter and finds a new way to engage with museums world wide.

    Tags: , , , , , ,
 

11 responses to “New Project for 2016: @52Museums Instagram & Twitter #52Museums” RSS icon


5 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

Leave a reply