@MarDixon Passionate about culture. Champion for the next generation of Cultural visitors. Defender of Libraries. Digital, Wearable Tech Enthusiast. Sharing knowledge. Troublemaker and/or advocate, depending on what you need.
  • 2018 Schedule for @52Museums

    0
    scissors
    January 2nd, 2018mardixonCulture, International

    Thank you to everyone who took part, followed, liked, and got involved with @52Museums on Instagram and Twitter in 2017.  It grew bigger than anyone could have expected.  The report for 2017 can be found here.

    You can find more information about what it is and how it works here.

    The 2018 schedule (and yes this is draft as changes throughout the year does happen):

    Please note: if you would like to be on the waiting list, please sign up here.

     

    January Country Museum Name Instagram Type of Museum
    1-7 USA Better World Museum betterworldmuseum social action, edible garden, creative tech
    8-14 Canada Mackin House Museum @coquitlam_heritage Historis Edwardian House
    USA Georgia’s Old Governor’s Mansion @GA_OGM Historic House
    15-21 UK Horniman Museum and Gardens https://www.instagram.com/hornimanmuseumgardens/ Natural World, Anthropology, Musical Instruments
    22-28 USA The Children’s Museum of Evansville @cmoekids Children’s Museum
    29-4 Germany Jüdisches Museum FFM @jmfrankfurt Jewish museum
    February
    5-11 Spain Museu de la Música de Barcelona https://www.instagram.com/museumusicabcn/ Music Museum
    USA New Orleans Jazz Museum @nolajazzmuseum History / Music Museum
    12-18 Canada McMaster Museum of Art macmuseum Art
    19-25 Israel Yad Vashem yadvashem The World Holocaust Remembrance Center
    26-4 England Royal College of Nursing Library and Archives Rcnlibraries history of nursing library, heritage Centre and archive
    March
    5-11 Germany Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen @k_sammlungnrw Modern and contemporary art
    12-18 Poland Museum of Contemporary Art in Krakow MOCAK @mocak_krakow Contemporary Art
    19-25 UK Victoria and Albert Museum https://www.instagram.com/vamuseum/ Art and Design Museum
    26-1 USA Baseball Hall of Fame @baseballhall Sports Museum
    April
    2-8 Catalonia, Spain Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya museunacional ART
    9-15 Sweden IKEA Museum ikeamuseum Design/Entrepreneurship/History
    16-22 Argentina Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires @modernoba Art Museum
    23-29 USA Chemical Heritage Foundation @chemheritage History of Science
    Catalonia, Spain National Museum of Science and Technology of Catalonia – Museu Nacional de la Ciència i de la Tècnica de Catalunya @mnactec Science and Technology
    May
    1-6 Germany Städel Museum staedelmuseum art
    Germany Marta Herford https://www.instagram.com/martaherford/ Contemporary art, design and architecture
    7-13 Belgium DIVA. Home of Diamonds @divaantwerp Diamond, jewelry & gold- and silversmithing museum
    14-20 UK Brooklands Museum brooklandsmuseum Motorsport and Aviation
    NZ MOTAT https://www.instagram.com/motatnz/ Transport & Technology
    21-27 UK Bronte Parsonage Museum @bronteparsonagemuseum Literary house with contemporary art programme
    28-3 USA Philbrook Museum of Art philbrookmuseum Art
    June
    4-10 USA Cincinnati Museum Center @cincymuseum History, Science, Children’s Museum
    11-17 UK Fulham Palace @fulhampalace Historic house and botanical garden
    18-24 Denmark Storm P. Museet @stormpmuseet Art Museum
    25-1 Sweden National Museums of World Culture, Sweden @etnografiska, @medelhavsmuseet, @ostasiatiska, @varldskulturmuseet enthographic
    July
    2-8 USA National Museum of American Jewish History @AmericanJewishMuseum History
    Israel The Museum of the Jewish People at Beit Hatfutsot https://www.instagram.com/beithatfutsot/ Ethnographic
    9-15 Germany Nazi Forced Labor Documentation Centre @doku.ns_zwangsarbeit historic place and history museum
    16-22 Poland Museum of Art in Łódź https://www.instagram.com/muzeumsztuki/ Modern Art
    23-29 Canada Royal BC Museum royalbcmuseum Natural and human history
    August
    20-5 Scotland Surgeons’ Hall Museums @surgeonshall Anatomy and Medical
    6-12 USA Walker Art Center walkerartcenter Art Museum
    13-19 Catalonia, Spain National Museum of Science and Technology of Catalonia – Museu Nacional de la Ciència i de la Tècnica de Catalunya @mnactec Science and Technology
    20-26 USA The Fabric Workshop and Museum fabricworkshop Contemporary
    27-2 USA NC Museum of History @ncmuseumhistory History
    Canada Canadian Museum of History @CanMusHistory History
    September
    3-9 Switzerland Museum Tinguely Basel museumtinguely Art
    10-16 USA Wilbur D. May Museum @renomaycenter Ethnographic/biographical
    17-23 Germany Historische Museen Hamburg histmuseenhh Historic Museums Hamburg
    24-30 Canada Secrets of Radar Museum secretsofradarmuseum History
    October
    1-7
    8-14 Scotland Dubdee V&A
    15-21 Australia Bundanon Trust @bundanontrust Nationally significant Bundanon Trust collection features works by the Boyd family presented in heritage Homestead and grounds.
    22-28 Australia Bendigo Art Gallery https://www.instagram.com/bendigoartgallery/ Art
    29-4 Spain Museu del Disseny de Barcelona museudeldisseny Design and Arts Decoratives Museum
    November
    5-11
    12-18
    19-25
    26-2
    December
    3-9
    10-16
    17-23 UK The National Gallery @national_gallery Art
    24-30

     

    Tags: , , , ,

Leave a reply